Sourced: Rugby Canada

© Copyright – 2019 – Victoria Sports News

Canada’s national men’s Rugby Sevens team upset Fiji on Saturday at BC Place Stadium 26-19.

Apparently, the crowd of 40,000 were the eighth man.

Canada had earlier defeated Kenya by the score of 36-21.

Three teams were then tied with 2-and-1 records, Fiji, Samoa and Canada. Kenya can run distances, but they apparently cannot translate that to sprinting as they went 0-3 in pool play. Fiji and Samoa somehow advanced to the title game Sunday and Canada was again relegated to the relegation round.

Apparently, Canada had a very rough outing against powerhouse Samoa.

For Canada, it is a perilous position to be in as the first four teams in the 10-event World Series of Rugby Sevens automatically advance to the 2020 Tokyo Olympics.

Canada is ranked 11th. Their next opportunity to qualify for Tokyo will happen during the North American and Caribbean Olympic qualifying tournament that takes place in July.

Rugby Canada

Canada vs. Samoa

Canada falls to Samoa in their first match of the day 38-7.

Canada was greeted with roaring cheers from their home crowd, running out of the tunnel in BC Place. Scoring Canada’s lone try was Mike Fuailefau, getting an inside ball and stretching over the try line for the score. Captain Nathan Hirayama got the conversion.

In the second half, Samoa took over, scoring four unanswered tries and come out victorious 38-7.

Canada vs. Fiji

Canada fired up the hometown fans with an all-important against third-ranked Fiji, winning 26-19.

Starting off the scoring for Canada was Matt Mullins on the wing from a Connor Braid pass. Then it was Braid himself getting an inside ball from Luke McCloskey and sliding in to score. Nathan Hirayama added on the kick but Fiji was able to score just before the break and tied things up at 12 a piece.

In the second half, Mike Fuailefau crashed through the Fijian line to score, his second of the tournament so far. Harry Jones put Canada back in front after a Fijian try, dotting down between the posts. Hirayama was good for both conversions and sealed the Canadian victory, 26-19.

Canada’s last match of the day will be against Kenya at 8:30pm ET/ 5:40pm PT.

Canada vs. Kenya

Canada come out victorious to against Kenya winning 36-12.

Starting off the match the ball found it’s way through hands to move out wide to Matt Mullins for the try. A bumbling ball was then scooped up by Harry Jones and tossed out to Connor Braid who touched down over the try line. Braid remained dominate, breaking through a tackle to score his second.

Kenya ended the half with two tries to cut Canada’s lead 19-12 at the half.

Canada started the second half off with a third try from Braid, finding a hole in the line a slipping through. A TMO decision was needed when Admir Cejvanovic battled to get over the line. Refs ruled it a try and Canada went up 31-14. Canada made Kenya pay for an error deep in their end with Phil Berna crossing the try line for Canada’s final score of the day.

Braid had two conversions on top of his hattrick, rounding out the dominate performance.

Canada finished off the day third in their pool and move on to the Challenge Trophy Quarterfinals against Spain tomorrow. Kickoff is at 1:36pm ET/ 10:36am PT.

Watch every match LIVE on CBC Sports.

Canada Roster:

Phil Berna – UBC Thunderbirds (Vancouver, BC)

Connor Braid – James Bay AA (Victoria, BC)

Admir Cejvanovic – Burnaby Lake RFC (Burnaby, BC)

Mike Fuailefau – Castaway Wanderers (Victoria, BC)

Nathan Hirayama – Captain, Unattached (Richmond, BC)

Harry Jones – Capilano RFC (North Vancouver, BC)

Isaac Kaay – UVIC Vikes (Kamloops, BC)

Pat Kay – Castaway Wanderers (Duncan, BC)

Luke McCloskey – Castaway Wanderers (Victoria, BC)

Josiah Morra – Toronto Saracens (Toronto, ON)

Matt Mullins – James Bay AA (Belleville, ON)

Jake Thiel – Abbotsford RFC (Abbotsford, BC)

Adam Zaruba – Capilano RFC (North Vancouver, BC)

Canada Schedule:

March 9

Canada 28-7 Samoa

Canada 26-19 Fiji

Canada 36-21 Kenya

March 10

Challenge Trophy Quarterfinals

Canada vs. Spain- 1:36pm ET/ 10:36am PT