The University of Victoria Vikes women’s rugby team were unable to handle the No. 7 nationally-ranked Calgary Dinos in the Canada West Final on Oct. 21. Led by now three-time reigning Canada West MVP Kasselle Menin, the Dinos dropped the Vikes 27-8 to leave head coach Brittany Waters‘ squad short of Canada West gold for the third year in a row. Unlike 2017, the Vikes still have a berth the U SPORTS National Championship as the conference runners-up.

Following a Maddy Aberg penalty goal for the Vikes, Calgary raced ahead 12-3 over Victoria after the first half, adding another 15 points in the second half in a dominating performance.

After a dominating 5-1 record during the regular season, the Canada West No. 1 seed Calgary Dinos left little doubt as to who is the top team in Canada West after a 27-8 win in the conference final over Victoria.

CW Player of the Year Menin recorded the first try for Calgary just five minutes in, while Coralyn Cafaro, Isla Shill, and Cassidy Jones also recorded tries for the Dinos.

All-star Elysa Sandron also added two converts and a penalty goal for Calgary, who trailed for only five minutes in the conference final.

Victoria, who was looking for their first conference title since 2015, opened the scoring with a penalty kick in the second minute from Maddy Aberg. Menin’s try three minutes later for Calgary, followed by a successful convert from Sandron that pushed the Dinos ahead 7-3.

Calgary would not relinquish their lead, as Cafaro extended the Dinos lead to nine after a try in the 12th minute.

Victoria had another opportunity from inside the Dinos’ 30-yard line for a second penalty goal late in the first half, but Aberg’s kick sailed wide.

Calgary wasted little time adding to their lead early in the second half, as Shill plunged into the Vike end zone from the two-yard line in the 44th minute.

Trailing by 14, Victoria mounted a quick drive just four minutes later, as Ada Okonwo cut into the Dino lead with a Victoria try in the 48th.

The two-time defending champions, however, took over possession of the ball immediately following the Victoria try, scoring twice more late in the second half to secure the conference title. Sandron connected from 15 yards for a penalty goal in the 54th, before Jones sealed the victory with a try in the 71st.

After not winning a Canada West title from 1999-2015, the Dinos have won the program’s first three between 2016 and 2018. After the game Vikes Paige FarriesGurp Dhaliwal and Aberg were named conference all-stars.

Both the Dinos and Vikes will fly the conference flag in two weeks, as they travel to Acadia University for the 2018 U SPORTS Women’s Rugby Championship November 1-4.

1     2     F
CGY-       12   15   27
VIC-         3      5    8


2′: VIC Penalty Goal – #21 Maddy Aberg – 3-0
5′: CGY Try – #4 Kasselle Menin (#15 Elysa Sandron Convert) 7-3
12′: CGY Try – #7 Coralyn Cafaro (Convert Missed) 12-3


44′: CGY Try – #10 Isla Shill (Convert Missed) 17-3
48′: VIC Try – #3 Ada Okonkwo (Convert Missed) 17-8
54′: CGY Penalty Goal – #15 Elysa Sandron – 20-8
71′: CGY Try – #2 Cassidy Jones (#15 Elysa Sandron Convert) 27-8