Vikes Athletics and Recreation are once again putting out the call for nominations for the UVic Sports Hall of Fame in the athlete, team, coach, builder or administrator categories ahead of the submission deadline on January 11.

Each year nominations are reviewed in January by a large selection committee that is made up of the director of Athletics and Recreation, manager of athletics, alumni representatives, a media representative, a varsity coach as well as select community representatives.

Last year, the 1981-82 women’s rowing team joined skier Lauren Woolstencroft and swimmer Stephanie Dixon as the inductees at the 2016 Celebration of Champions event in March. A total of seven teams and 42 individuals have been inducted into the Hall of Fame since it was created in 2002.

The goals of the UVic Sports Hall of fame are focused around honouring outstanding contributions of athletes who have enhanced the University’s image and reputation through sport or recreation, preserving and recording the history and tradition of sport at the university, promoting sport at UVic and providing fundraising opportunities for the Athletics and Recreation department.

Athletes, whether varsity, community or recreational, can be nominated, as well as any varsity team or coach. The builder/administrator category is focused on an individual who has made a significant contribution to the development or enhancement of a Vikes athletics program. This category typically excludes varsity coaches. A full list of nomination criteria can be reviewed in the terms of reference.

The UVic Sports Hall of Fame features a variety of well-known coaches, builders and athletes. The inaugural class included Vikes basketball coaching legends Ken and Kathy Shields, as well as rugby player Gareth Rees, Olympic rower Lorne Loomer and soccer’s Wally Milligan in the builder category.

The nomination committee is currently accepting nominations via e-mail or mail to David Conlin, Vikes Communications Officer, at, or mail to Room A245, CARSA Building, PO Box 1700 STN CSC, Victoria, B.C., V8W 2Y2.

Please note that nominations are accepted on an on-going basis and those not considered for 2016-17 will be kept for future consideration, while nominations from previous years are also still in consideration.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.