Photo courtesy Greater Victoria Sports Hall of Fame
Photo courtesy Greater Victoria Sports Hall of Fame

The Greater Victoria Sports Hall of Fame (GVSHOF) inducted nine new members – six athletes and three builders – at a ceremony at the Westin Bear Mountain Resort earlier on this month. The six athletes honoured were: Lauren Woolstencroft (Skiing), Alexander (Sandy) Peden (Shooting), Rick Say (Swimming), Ike MacKay (Soccer), Bruce Deacon (Athletics), and Steve Sinclair (Baseball). The three builders are Elaine Dagg-Jackson (Curling), Mike Spracklen (Rowing) and Ed Ashmore (Wrestling).

“These inductees are true role models and are most deserving of this prestigious recognition. They have inspired and impacted the lives of so many Canadian athletes and fans,” said Robert Hope, President of the GVSHOF.

“It was a huge honour and a thrill,” said Bruce Deacon, Olympian and two-time winner of the Victoria Marathon. “Getting inducted was one thing, but being inducted next to athletes like Rick Say and Lauren Woolsencroft was quite humbling.”

For the past 21 years the GVSHOF has recognized and celebrated the outstanding performances and contributions of athletes, builders, officials and teams from Greater Victoria who have brought distinction to themselves, their sport, community and country.

This year’s inductees brings the total number of Victoria’s honourees to 205.

The 2015 Inductees

Lauren Woolstencroft – Para-Alpine Skiing. Born missing part of three limbs, Lauren began skiing at age four and by 2010, she had accumulated over 50 World Cup medals, 10 Olympic medals, eight world championship titles, and was named the 2006 International Paralympic Committee Athlete of the Year.

Alexander (Sandy) Peden – Shooting. Sandy began target shooting in 1960 and was a successful top level competitor for over 35 years, competing in target rifle at national competitions 26 times and representing Canada at Bisley, England 20 times as well as at the 1982 and 1990 Commonwealth Games.

Rick Say – Swimming. Rick is the most-decorated swimmer in Canadian history, setting 24 national records, serving as Captain of the national team from 2002 – 2009 and capturing 27 international medals over three Olympics, six World Championships and three Commonwealth Games.

Ike MacKay – Soccer. One of the first Canadian soccer players to play in the UK, Ike also played professional soccer with the Vancouver Royals and Portland Timbers as well as having nine World Cup appearances, plus Olympic qualifying and Pan American Games play with the Canadian national team.

Bruce Deacon – Athletics. Canada’s lone marathoner throughout the 90’s, Bruce represented Canada at four World Championships, two Olympic Games, won silver at the 2003 Pan American Games, and is currently the only three-time winner of the California International Marathon.

Steve Sinclair – Baseball. A left-handed pitcher out of Oak Bay High School, Steve was drafted in 1991 at age 19 by the Toronto Blue Jays where he stayed until traded in 1999 to the Seattle Mariners, in whose system he played until he retired from professional baseball in 2003.

Elaine Dagg-Jackson – Coach. Curling One of Canada’s first Certified Professional Coaches, and Canadian national women’s curling coach since 2003, Elaine has coached at over 16 World Curling Championships and five Olympic Games and received a bronze medal herself at the 1992 Albertville Olympics as the coach/fifth member of the Julie Sutton rink.

Mike Spracklen – Coach. In his first four-year tenure as Head Coach of the National Men’s Rowing Program, Mike’s rowers earned medals for Canada at four World Championships and two Olympic Games. In 2000, he returned to Elk Lake where he produced a further eight World Champion boats and four Olympic medal winners and was named the International Rowing Federation’s “Coach of the Year” in 2002.

Ed Ashmore – Official/Administrator. Ed officiated in the late 60s-early70s at all national championships and represented Canada as a FILA official at the highest level, as well as serving as Wrestling Technical Director for many multi-sport competitions, all of which garnered him the Outstanding Contributor Award from the Wrestling Canada Lutte Hall of Fame.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.