Bryan Kelly, Rugby Canada

Canada’s Men’s Rugby Team completed its 2017 Americas Rugby Championship campaign with a 24-23 defeat to Brazil Friday night in Sao Paulo.

Nick Blevins and Gordon McRorie had tries for Canada while McRorie kicked 13 points but it was Lucas Tranquez’s 79th minute try that stole victory. It was Brazil who got off to the fast start as Daniel Sancery broke a couple of Canadian tackles to give his side a 7-0 lead after Moises Duque added the conversion.

However, Canada responded immediately as Blevins side-stepped a few tacklers to get the visitors on the board. A Duque penalty in the 16th minute pushed Brazil back ahead 10-7 before McRorie scored Canada’s second try as he slipped through a hole off of a lineout for a 14-10 lead.

Duque would give Brazil the lead in the 37th minute as the hosts took a narrow 17-14 lead into the second half. In a slow second half, a McRorie penalty, as well as a rare drop goal, gave Canada a 23-17 lead with 10 minutes to play.

Brett Beukeboom and Diego Lopez were both shown yellow cards in the 71st minute but Canada were undone by Tranquez’s last minute try as they concluded their ARC campaign.

Scoring Summary:


Tries: Gordon McRorie, Nick Blevins

Conversions: Gordon McRorie (2)

Penalties: Gordon McRorie (2)

Drop goals: Gordon McRorie


Tries: Daniel Sancery, Moises Duque

Conversions: Moises Duque (3)

Penalties: Moises Duque

Canada Team to face Brazil (Name, club, hometown):

  1. Rob Brouwer – (Lindsay RFC/Ontario Blues) Lindsay, ON
  2. Eric Howard – (Brantford Harlequins/Ontario Blues) Ottawa, ON
  3. Matt Tierney – (Section Paloise/Ontario Blues) Oakville, ON
  4. Brett Beukeboom – (Cornish Pirates) Lindsay, ON
  5. Liam Chisholm – (UVIC Vikes/BC Bears) Kenora, ON
  6. Matt Beukeboom – (Section Paloise) Lindsay, ON
  7. Lucas Rumball – (Balmy Beach RFC/Ontario Blues) Scarborough, ON
  8. Admir Cejvanovic – (Burnaby Lake RFC/BC Bears) Burnaby, BC
  9. Gordon McRorie – Captain (Calgary Hornets/Prairie Wolf Pack) Calgary, AB
  10. Gradyn Bowd – (UVIC Vikes/Prairie Wolf Pack) Red Deer, AB
  11. Rory McDonell – (Brantford Harlequins/Ontario Blues) Brantford, ON
  12. Nick Blevins – (Calgary Hornets/Prairie Wolf Pack) Calgary, AB
  13. Conor Trainor – (RC Vannes/BC Bears) Vancouver, BC
  14. Dan Moor – (Balmy Beach RFC/Ontario Blues) Toronto, ON
  15. Guiseppe Du Toit – (UVIC Vikes/BC Bears) Maple Ridge, BC
  16. Ray Barkwill – (Castaway Wanderers/Ontario Blues) Niagara Falls, ON
  17. Djustice Sears -Duru – (Glasgow Warriors/Ontario Blues) Oakville, ON
  18. Cole Keith – (James Bay AA/Atlantic Rock) Sussex, NB
  19. Reegan O’Gorman – (Marist Albion) Vancouver, BC
  20. Clay Panga – (Westshore RFC/Prairie Wolf Pack) Calgary, AB
  21. Phil Mack – (James Bay AA/BC Bears) Victoria, BC
  22. George Barton – (Clermont Espoirs) Duncan, BC
  23. Brock Staller – (UBC Thunderbirds/BC Bears) Vancouver, BC


Canada’s 2017 Americas Rugby Championship Schedule:


Canada 6-20 Argentina — Feb. 4, Westhills Stadium, Langford, BC

Canada 36-15 Chile — Feb. 11, Westhills Stadium, Langford, BC

Canada 34-51 USA — Feb. 18, Swangard Stadium, Burnaby, BC

Uruguay 17-13 Canada — Feb. 25, Estadio Domingo Burgueno, Uruguay

Brazil 24-23 Canada — March 3, Pacaembu Stadium, Brazil