See videos and story from Slugfest VII, more coming...    Get your team published every time, guaranteed.

Homan Takes on Top 9 Men’s Teams in Elite 10, March 17- 20 in Victoria, B.C

Sportsnet

On the heels of sweeping the last three Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curlingwomen’s events, world-ranked No. 1 Rachel Homan and her rink will participate in this year’s Elite 10 in Victoria, B.C. from March 17-20, squaring off against nine of the best men’s teams in the world. This is the first time a women’s team has been invited to participate in a men’s Grand Slam event since Sportsnet acquired the Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling series in 2012.

Sportsnet’s broadcast coverage of the event, live from Victoria’s Q Centre at West Shore Parks & Recreation, begins Thursday, March 17 at 2:30 p.m. ET / 11:30 a.m. PT on Sportsnet and can be streamed through the Sportsnet mobile app and Sportsnet.ca/now. (Full broadcast schedule below).

"We're very excited for the opportunity to play in this unique event. The Pinty's Grand Slams have provided such a great platform for teams to develop over the years and this will just add to that," said skip Rachel Homan. “We try to always just play our game and this will be no different. Just focus on our shots no matter who we're playing.”

“Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling is dedicated to growing the game of curling in new and exciting directions – providing challenging new formats for the players and premium competition coverage for the fans,” said Rob Corte, Vice President, Live Events and News Production, Sportsnet. “Team Homan’s unquestionable talent and competitive drive will be a welcome addition to the Elite 10’s star-powered competition field.”

In addition to Homan, the Elite 10 features nine of the world’s best men’s teams competing in a unique match play format, where each game is decided by the number of ends a team wins. With a $100,000 purse on the line, this year’s event will see the world ranked No. 1 Team McEwen (Winnipeg) look to defend the inaugural Elite 10 title against last year’s runner-up Team Edin (Karlstad, Sweden), 2015National champ Brad Gushue (St. John’s, NL), and the inaugural 2015 Tour Challenge winner Team Koe (Calgary). For full details on the event and its format, please visit www.thegrandslamofcurling.com.

Additional events in the 2015-16 Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling series include:

  • Players’ Championship* – Toronto, ON (April 12-17, 2016 at Ryerson’s Mattamy Athletic Centre)
  • Humpty’s Champions Cup – Sherwood Park, AB (April 26 – May 1, 2016 at Sherwood Park Arena Sports Centre)

*Major event

Owned and operated by Sportsnet since 2012, the Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling is an elite series of men’s and women's curling events which are part of the World Curling Tour and feature the best teams from across Canada and around the world. The series expanded from five to seven events for the 2015-16 season. Additionally, total prize money for the Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling events increased to $1.5 million for 2015-16 season. Sportsnet is the broadcaster for all Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curlingevents, as well as the B.C., Alberta, Manitoba and Ontario Provincial Curling Championships. For more details on future events, please visit www.thegrandslamofcurling.com.

 

Broadcast Schedule – Elite 10

* All broadcasts can be streamed through the Sportsnet mobile app and Sportsnet.ca/now

Thursday, March 17

  • Round Robin, 2:30 p.m. ET / 11:30 a.m. PT, (Sportsnet)
  • Round Robin, 7 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. PT (Sportsnet East, West and Pacific)
  • Round Robin, 10:30 p.m. ET / 7:30 p.m. PT (Sportsnet)

Friday, March 18

  • Round Robin, 2:30 p.m. ET / 11:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet ONE)
  • Round Robin, 6 p.m. ET / 3 p.m. PT (Sportsnet)
  • Round Robin, 10:30 p.m. ET / 7:30 p.m. PT (Sportsnet East & Ontario, joined in progress on West and Pacific)

Saturday, March 19

  • Quarter-finals, 4 p.m. ET / 1 p.m. PT (Sportsnet)
  • Semifinals, 10:30 p.m. / 7:30 p.m. PT (Sportsnet)

Sunday, March 20

  • Final, 4 p.m. ET / 1 p.m. PT (Sportsnet)

Social Media

Web:

Official Website, Sportsnet http://www.sportsnet.ca/

Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling http://www.thegrandslamofcurling.com/
Instagram:
Follow Sportsnet @Sportsnet
Follow Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling @grandslamofcurling
Facebook:
Like Sportsnet http://www.facebook.com/sportsnet
Like Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling http://www.facebook.com/thegrandslamofcurling
Twitter:
Follow Sportsnet @Sportsnet
Follow Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling @grandslamcurl
Official Sportsnet PR @SportsnetPR

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

http://www.runvictoriamarathon.com

Upcoming Events

  1. Victoria Royals host Vancouver Giants

    September 22 @ 7:05 pm - 10:00 pm

Font Size

A A A