Vikes Communications

The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) has announced the 2018 NAIA Men’s Golf All-America teams, as selected by the NAIA Men’s Golf Coaches’ Association All-America Committee. A total of 45 student-athletes were honored, with 15 individuals being named to each of the three teams.

Among those honoured were a trio of athletes from the University of Vikes men’s golf squad. Fourth-years Mike Griffin and Lawren Rowe earned a spot on the second team, while second-year Josh Miller was selected to the third team.

All three athletes had outstanding seasons in 2017-18, leading the Vikes to two team tournament victories, a second-place finish at the A.I.I. Regional Championship and wrapping up their season tenth overall at the NAIA National Championship.

Individually, Rowe finished in the top-10 at seven of the nine tournaments he competed in this season. Griffin meanwhile, recorded three top-five placings. Both of those graduating golfers have also been named semifinalists for the Nicklaus National Player of the Year Award.

In his first season with the Vikes program, Miller provided consistent results throughout the season, ending the year with six finishes in the top-20.

Oklahoma City leads all programs with five All-America winners. Rupert Kaminski, David Meyers, and Garrison Mendoza earned first team honors, Gaston Romero earned a second team award, and Peri’Don Castille captured a third team accolade.

Andrew Williamson of Wayland Baptist (Texas), Rupert Kaminski of Oklahoma City, and Jake Bauer of Johnson & Wales (Fla.) highlight the returning first team All-Americans as they each win their third-consecutive award. S.M. Lee of Dalton State (Ga.), Rowan Lester of Texas Wesleyan, and David Meyers of Oklahoma City round out the list of returners, each earning their second-straight first team honor.

In total, there are 19 All-Americans winning their second-consecutive All-America honor.

Kyle Blaser of Oklahoma City was named the 2018 NAIA Men’s Golf National Coach of the Year after leading his team to its NAIA Men’s Golf-leading 11th national championship title.

2018 NAIA Men’s Golf All-America Teams

First Team School
SM Lee Dalton State (Ga.)
Andrew Williamson Wayland Baptist (Texas)
Rowan Lester Texas Wesleyan
Rupert Kaminski Oklahoma City
Mark Johnson Coastal Georgia
Jack Dyer Keiser (Fla.)
David Meyers Oklahoma City
Erik Jonasson Keiser (Fla.)
Alec Dutkowski Taylor (Ind.)
Newport Laparojkit USC-Beaufort (S.C.)
Jake Bauer Johnson & Wales (Fla.)
Leo Mathard Texas Wesleyan
Garrison Mendoza Oklahoma City
Alex Rainville Johnson & Wales (Fla.)
PJ Shields Dalton State (Ga.)
Second Team School
Rasmus Lind Lindsey Wilson (Ky.)
Reece Blair University of Northwestern Ohio
Ben Kendrick Cumberlands (Ky.)
Lauri Hacklin Coastal Georgia
Brian Murtagh Cardinal Stritch (Wis.)
Lawren Rowe Victoria (B.C.)
Andrew Harrison British Columbia
Carlos Ardila Southeastern (Fla.)
Gonzal Garcia-Parada University of Northwestern Ohio
Jack Clarkson William Woods (Mo.)
Victor Miron Texas Wesleyan
Liam Gransden Keiser (Fla.)
Nick Norton Arizona Christian
Gaston Romero Oklahoma City
Mike Griffin Victoria (B.C.)
Third Team School
Colton Murphy Rocky Mountain (Mont.)
Mitch Lamping Taylor (Ind.)
Lewis Scott University of Northwestern Ohio
Kyle Kidd Coastal Georgia
Callum Blinkhorn Lindsey Wilson (Ky.)
Mitch Pfingsten Grand View (Iowa)
Chase Cole Dalton State (Ga.)
Peri’Don Castille Oklahoma City
Josh Miller Victoria (B.C.)
Jack Faraci USC-Beaufort (S.C.)
Matt Andrews Embry-Riddle (Ariz.)
Zachary Chegwidden William Penn (Iowa)
Futa Yamagishi Texas Wesleyan
Toby Graves Keiser (Fla.)
Cody Booska Johnson & Wales (Fla.)