© Copyright – 2018 – Victoria Sports News

Dylan Abbott (middle) celebrates game-winner. Photo credit: Christopher Kelsall

The 103rd Sir John Jackson Cup took place Sunday at Royal Athletics Park, between two teams that were not expected to make it all the way this year. Gorge FC, with their long history in Victoria, took on the Lakehill FC, who have never made it to the cup final.

The game and elimination process leading up is patterned after the celebrated FA Cup that is contested annually in England.

The mood at R.A.P. was celebratory; each team had a cheering section of several hundred fans, who were equally boisterous throughout.

Lakehill goaltender. Photo credit: Christopher Kelsall

In the end the teams played a close match, but it was Gorge who pulled out the win by the score of 3-2.

“I heard it was a kind of a big deal, but I didn’t realize it was 103 years old,” shared game MVP Dylan Abbott, who scored the winning goal at the 85th minute. “I joined the team just a while ago. I was looking for a more competitive game. I had been playing in the Okanagan and it is way more competitive in Victoria.”

He had been kicking around Salmon Arm and had played footy for UBCO.

Abbott had picked up the ball, took four strides to the edge of the box – centre – and booted a left foot low, right corner for the game-winner. The ball drifted just under the diving Lakehill goaltender.

Gorge led at the half, and then Lakehill tied it up in the second half at the 52-minute mark with a Ryan Andre marker.

It was a clean and evenly played match, where either team could have won.

Lakehill goal, a header from the goal line. Photo credit: Christopher Kelsall

Getting here, fourth-seeded Lakehill, had shutout the second-seed Vic West 1-0 in the semifinals, it was a minor upset.

Fifth-seeded Gorge FC took out favoured Cowichan FC by the score of 3-1 during the Jackson Cup semifinals. Cowichan was looking to win their sixth cup in nine years. Gorge, however, usurped the plan with a solid game, keeping good ball control on the ground. Gorge had won six of their own from 2004 to 2009.