The Greater Victoria Sports Hall of Fame has announced that Clint Hamilton, Director of Athletics and Recreation at the University of Victoria, has joined its Board of Directors.

A UVic alumni, Hamilton was a member of the 1983-84 CIS Champion men’s basketball team before transferring to McGill, where he played two seasons. He was named Quebec conference all-star in 1987 while obtaining his Bachelor of Education in Elementary and Secondary Physical Education. Returning to UVic in 1989 to pursue his Masters of Education in coaching studies, he made the CIS Championships in 1989-90 and in 1990-91, serving as team captain. In 1992, Hamilton was named head coach, and in 1999, Director of the men’s basketball program at the University of New Brunswick.

Hamilton has been in his current position at UVic since 2005. His notable achievements include launching the highly successful Vikes Championship Breakfast, which celebrated its 10th year in 2017 having raised over $4.4 million, and the opening of CARSA in May 2015 – the $77 million UVic Centre for Athletics, Recreation and Special Abilities (CARSA). In August 2015 the Walk of Excellence was opened – a walkway celebrating the history of Vikes athletes, coaches and supporters through photographs, historic memorabilia and success stories.

“I was pleased to be asked to join the Victoria Sports Hall of Fame Board,” said Hamilton. “Our Hall of Fame plays a key role in our community as we honour past accomplishment and make important contributions in inspiring future generations.  I look forward to working with fellow Board members to further the mission of the Victoria Sports Hall of Fame.”

President Doug Jennings welcomes Hamilton to the Board. “We have always had a close association with UVic through the annual Bate Family Scholarship, where we recognize young, talented Vikes athletes, so having Clint join our Board is a natural fit for us, and we look forward to working with him on future community projects.”

The other board members are: Robert Hope, Rick Leggett, Chris Graham, Tom Turnbull, Dave Erb, Lois Smith, Robert Bettauer, Cal Mackay, Fern Johnson, Louise Hodgson-Jones, Jim Swanson and Stacie Louttit.  Each board member serves a three-year term.